Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Always wanted a Ghia, found a project
Forum Index -> Ghia Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
noexit
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2006 1:41 am    Post subject: Always wanted a Ghia, found a project Reply with quote

I am very new to VW's and I've always wanted a Ghia, and I've found a pretty good 1970 with minimal rust but without an engine for $400, and a pos '74 super Beetle with a decent duel port engine for about $300.

Could it be worth my while to get the Ghia, and Beetle, stick the engine in the Ghia, and dump the beetle? Would it be a direct swap? And what, if any, were differences between the engines that the Ghia and Beetle had?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
HouseofGhia
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:30 am    Post subject: Re: Always wanted a Ghia, found a project Reply with quote

noexit wrote:

Could it be worth my while to get the Ghia, and Beetle, stick the engine in the Ghia, and dump the beetle?

yes

Quote:
Would it be a direct swap?

yes

Quote:
And what, if any, were differences between the engines that the Ghia and Beetle had?

Ghias and beetles shared the same engines. Not certain of any significant diffs between the 74 engine and the 70 engine.
74Ghia
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2006 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go for it. The motor swap from a Beetle to a Ghia is a straight swap. And the Ghia is way cooler than the bug. At least I think so. Plus you can recoup some of the $$$ by selling the Beetle. Sounds like a good deal to me! And welcome to Ghia ownership and the group here. Great place to shop and learn. Smile

2012 Silverado
53 FiberFab MG TD Replica (VW)

Life is hard and its harder if you're stupid.