Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts  See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com
 
091 trans and type 1 motor
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> HBB Off-Road Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Print View
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
aquamanx
Samba Member


Joined: May 18, 2004
Posts: 462
Location: Texas
aquamanx is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:20 pm    Post subject: 091 trans and type 1 motor Reply with quote

Will a type 1 motor bolt up to a 091 (6 rib bus) trans?
How about the starter & clutch?
Are there any modifications that would need to be done?

Thanks Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Classifieds Feedback
takotruckin
SUPER Baja


Joined: August 14, 2005
Posts: 2378
Location: stuck in fresno, ca
takotruckin is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, i beleive you would need an 091 starter, and longer studs to hold the engine on. the easy way to do it (what i did) is to find an 002 bellhousing
_________________
Member of the baja's that don't run club, for now!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Durf
Samba Member


Joined: October 19, 2006
Posts: 245
Location: San Diego
Durf is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

An 002 bell housing will work with an 091? I have a spare 002 bell housing and I have a friend with a broken 091 bell housing on his buggy. I took the 002 bell housing today and told him he could have it if it would work. We compared the two he didn't think it would work so I brought it back home with me. If it will work I'll take it back to him tomorrow. Hope I'm not hijacking the thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
takotruckin
SUPER Baja


Joined: August 14, 2005
Posts: 2378
Location: stuck in fresno, ca
takotruckin is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, it will bolt right on. make sure you use a new gasket
_________________
Member of the baja's that don't run club, for now!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Durf
Samba Member


Joined: October 19, 2006
Posts: 245
Location: San Diego
Durf is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. That's good news. I did notice the top two mounting holes are a little different but that's not a big deal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Durf
Samba Member


Joined: October 19, 2006
Posts: 245
Location: San Diego
Durf is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. That's good news. I did notice the top two mounting holes are a little different but that's not a big deal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
mattt
Samba Member


Joined: January 20, 2004
Posts: 1132

mattt is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You will have to shorten the input shaft on the trans roughly 1/2". Confirm that dimension first, try a VW trans shop. The T4 motors took a longer input shaft than the T1 engine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Jamnajar
Samba Member


Joined: August 28, 2006
Posts: 542
Location: Saratoga Springs, UT
Jamnajar is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dude you have to have an 091 starter?? I thought they all (bug, early bus, 002,091) used the same starters...you learn something new everyday...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
BugZyla.com
Samba Member


Joined: July 11, 2004
Posts: 642
Location: Mesa, AZ
BugZyla.com is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You do have to shorten the input shaft about 1/2 inch. The best way to guage this is to measure how far the input shaft sticks out of your stock t-1 trans and make the 091 shaft the same length. I just trim them with a cut off wheel and then put the small taper back on the end with a die grinder with a sanding pad on it. The taper makes it easier for the input shaft to go into the gland nut.

Im not sure about the 002, but the 091 starter is different. If you put a t-1 starter onm an 091 the starter wont engage the flywheel.
_________________
Daryll http://www.azbaja.com P.R.

http://www.bugzyla.com

"Why is there Braille on a Drive Thru ATM?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
ntsqd
Samba Member


Joined: January 13, 2006
Posts: 258

ntsqd is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've used an Autostick starter in my glass buggy's 002 since about '88.
_________________
OFf Road in So. CA? Want to continue to do so?

CORVA.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
turboblue
Samba Member


Joined: October 09, 2003
Posts: 4182
Location: Central Indiana
turboblue is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jamnajar wrote:
Dude you have to have an 091 starter?? I thought they all (bug, early bus, 002,091) used the same starters...you learn something new everyday...


All but the 091 can use the Bosch SR15 (manual) or SR17 (autostick).
The 091 uses the Bosch SR87 if you have the original bellhousing in place.
_________________
Gary

Turbo VW Sand Drag Buggy

"If you don't run into the Devil every once in awhile, you must be going in the same direction!"

My Website

Shop Facebook Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Facebook Gallery Classifieds Feedback
aquamanx
Samba Member


Joined: May 18, 2004
Posts: 462
Location: Texas
aquamanx is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let me see if Ive got this rite

1 longer bolts
2 cut the input shaft about 1/2"
3 use a 091 starter (Bosch SR87)

Then run the late model type 1 clutch & pressure plate?

Also after cutting the input shaft Im guessing I cant ever go back to a type 4 engine.

The reason I ask is building a sand rail and Ive got a 76 bus with the 2.0L and 091 trans (2.0L motor needs rebuild), I also have a fresh rebuilt stock 1600. So I was thinking Id use the 091 trans and 1600 motor till I have the time and $ to build the type 4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Classifieds Feedback
ntsqd
Samba Member


Joined: January 13, 2006
Posts: 258

ntsqd is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It may not be "correct", but on my 002 with a 002 b/h I didn't use longer engine studs or bolts.
I just put an 002 b/h on an 091. The b/h to t/a case bolts were long enough to engage the 091 case an appropriate distance.

So I'm mystified by the call for longer bolts.
_________________
OFf Road in So. CA? Want to continue to do so?

CORVA.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
aquamanx
Samba Member


Joined: May 18, 2004
Posts: 462
Location: Texas
aquamanx is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ntsqd wrote:
It may not be "correct", but on my 002 with a 002 b/h I didn't use longer engine studs or bolts.
I just put an 002 b/h on an 091. The b/h to t/a case bolts were long enough to engage the 091 case an appropriate distance.

So I'm mystified by the call for longer bolts.


Did you still have to cut the input shaft of the 091 when using the 002 B/H?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Classifieds Feedback
Durf
Samba Member


Joined: October 19, 2006
Posts: 245
Location: San Diego
Durf is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aquamanx wrote:

Did you still have to cut the input shaft of the 091 when using the 002 B/H?


That's the only time you have to cut the input shaft from my understanding. The 091 bell housing is a tad deeper than the 002. The chassis mounting holes on top are a bit different too (not where bell housing mounts to engine).


002 Bellhousing:
stock type 1 starter
stock mounting studs/bolts
cut approx 1/2 inch off input shaft

091 Bellhousing:
starter for 091 (sr87)
longer mounting studs/bolts
no cutting of the input shaft
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
aquamanx
Samba Member


Joined: May 18, 2004
Posts: 462
Location: Texas
aquamanx is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Durf wrote:
aquamanx wrote:

Did you still have to cut the input shaft of the 091 when using the 002 B/H?


That's the only time you have to cut the input shaft from my understanding. The 091 bell housing is a tad deeper than the 002. The chassis mounting holes on top are a bit different too (not where bell housing mounts to engine).


002 Bellhousing:
stock type 1 starter
stock mounting studs/bolts
cut approx 1/2 inch off input shaft

091 Bellhousing:
starter for 091 (sr87)
longer mounting studs/bolts
no cutting of the input shaft


Ok thanks that helps! I should be good to go with option 2
091 Bellhousing:
starter for 091 (sr87)
longer mounting studs/bolts
no cutting of the input shaft
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Classifieds Feedback
ntsqd
Samba Member


Joined: January 13, 2006
Posts: 258

ntsqd is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aquamanx wrote:

Did you still have to cut the input shaft of the 091 when using the 002 B/H?

Just to confirm, I've not yet cut it, but it is pretty obvious that it is too long.
_________________
OFf Road in So. CA? Want to continue to do so?

CORVA.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
mattt
Samba Member


Joined: January 20, 2004
Posts: 1132

mattt is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AFAIK, regardless of which bell housing you use, the input shaft must be shortened to work with a T1 engine. The difference is in the gland nut between a T4 engine and T1 engine. You can use whatever clutch/pressure plate works with the flywheel on your particular engine. I think all T1's have a 200mm flywheel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
ntsqd
Samba Member


Joined: January 13, 2006
Posts: 258

ntsqd is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would try a T1 in the 091 b/h b4 cuting it. The reason is that with the 091 b/h on my 091 t/a it looked about right, but with the 002 b/h on my t/a it was obvious that it was too long.
_________________
OFf Road in So. CA? Want to continue to do so?

CORVA.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
turboblue
Samba Member


Joined: October 09, 2003
Posts: 4182
Location: Central Indiana
turboblue is offline 

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
AFAIK, regardless of which bell housing you use, the input shaft must be shortened to work with a T1 engine


What about the 68-71 bus that came with the T-1 engine?

I think there are three versions of the 3 rib tranny.

Early 68 with the acorn bolts around the drive flanges.
Mid year 68-71 with the T-1 engine, smooth bell housing.
Later version 72-73 with the mounting bosses on the bell housing and the T-2/4 style engine.
_________________
Gary

Turbo VW Sand Drag Buggy

"If you don't run into the Devil every once in awhile, you must be going in the same direction!"

My Website

Shop Facebook Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Facebook Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Forum Index -> HBB Off-Road All times are Mountain Standard Time/Pacific Daylight Savings Time
Page: 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

About | Help! | Advertise | Donate | Premium Membership | Privacy/Terms of Use | Contact Us | Site Map
Copyright © 1996-2018, Everett Barnes. All Rights Reserved.
Not affiliated with or sponsored by Volkswagen of America | Forum powered by phpBB