Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

New to the Westy scene
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ma'ili Pt Westy
Samba Member

Location: Woodside, California (located in Northern California)

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 7:36 pm    Post subject: New to the Westy scene Reply with quote

I'm new to the Westy scene. I've had 60's type bugs for the past 20+ years. I'm now looking at Westy's 86 - 91, is this a good choice of years? What else should I look into when looking for my Westy?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
mcsyncro
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

look into your soon to be empty checking account.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Ma'ili Pt Westy
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 8:49 pm    Post subject: Better than buying a 911 Reply with quote

I was originally going to buy a 1987 - 1988 911, now that would empty my checkbook, saving account and everything else that I have. A complete engine rebuild on a 911 will run somewhere around $10K - $15K, when I started to check into all the HIGH maintenance issues that is associated with the 911's, I decided to stick with my VW's

MCSyncro, how is the maintenance on your porsche? Is it as bad as a 911?
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
0to60in6min
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

welcome...

depending how good you are as "back yard mechanic", the previous post is right...