Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

valve cover replacement
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Perales
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 5:52 am    Post subject: valve cover replacement Reply with quote

Yes this question will finally reveal that I am a complete mechanical newbie when it comes to engines , but really I want to learn and assume some control over my van.

I am wanting to replace the valve covers on my 87. It seems like a very easy thing to do and the replacement parts seem very cheap so I don't want to pay a mechanic to do something that I believe is so easy.

My question is, when I remove the old valve covers do I need to drain the oil or anything like that first? Am I going to be flowing something all over the place when they come off or it it dry enough in there to just do it. And secondly when I replace the gasket do I need to seal it with some sort of goop or is the replacement seal good enough as is.

Thanks for your patients.
tencentlife
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You just pry down the center of the wire bails, and pull off the covers. A little oil will dribble out, so have a pan under the head, but it isn't necessary to drain all your oil. The covers are often kinda stuck on, but very gentle prying against the rim in a couple places will break the seal, and they'll be easy to pull off then.