Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Building 1835cc engine - need some advice
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Corwin
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 10:40 am    Post subject: Building 1835cc engine - need some advice Reply with quote

Hey all. I'm building a new engine and I need some input/advice on it. Especially if any pro engine builders out there can tell me that this will in fact work and that I will end up with an engine that will run on pump gas (premium is okay). And before you burn me, yes, I'm a novice and no I'm not building the engine by myself. Don't hate!

It's a 1600cc bug block. Here's what I want to do:

AA 92mm pistons/cylinders
Engle 120 cam
Performance crankshaft (not sure what stroke I'll need...)
1:25 ratio rocker arms

The heads will be sent down to AJ Sims at lowbugget, along with the manifolds to all be ported/machined and set up with dual springs. I'm also having them rebuild the dual 40mm Kads at the same time. I know I'll need chromoly pushrods and assorted other goodies, but these are the basics.

I'm having the head tapped for full flow and am going with an upgraded oil pump.

Can anyone tell me if they see any problems with this or suggest a crankshaft to go with all of this? Thanks ahead of time. Smile
Rome
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll start with your easiest question. For an 1835cc engine, if you use the 92mm pistons, then the stroke works out to be 69mm. That is the same stroke as a stock VW 1600cc type 1 engine. The 1600 uses 85.5 pistons with the 69mm stroke to get an actual 1584cc.