Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

"green" coolant vs vw coolant
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bruce Wayne
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 4:27 pm    Post subject: "green" coolant vs vw coolant Reply with quote

mechanic says I should not run "green" (prestone type) coolant in my van due to the fact it can damage the aluminum. is this true? he says to run vw coolant to prevent damage. never heard of such a thing myself,but im new to VW world.
amishman
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I only run the red VW kind myself. Why chance it. I think if you flushed the green stuff often, like every 1 year, it would probably be OK, but again, VW recommends certain stuff so your best to run what they say.

Basically you are supposed to run phosphate-free coolant. Not sure if that comes in other colors other than red but look for that.

tj

Come visit my web site!
http://www.vwhippie.com
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
madmax25
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just filled up my '88 with the neon green Prestone "any make/model/year" stuff. I don't recall seeing "phosphate free" on it, but it says that it protects aluminum engines so I'm hoping it's good...plus I swear I saw a post by one of the wise vanagon elders on here saying that they use that stuff too...
If anyone believes this product and engine should not be wed, speak now or forever hold your peace (so i can dump it and fill it with the good stuff asap).
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
DAVEURO
Samba Member