Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Autostick loud
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
jaymonkey
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:27 am    Post subject: Autostick loud Reply with quote

I've been restoring a 69 autostick for the last 2 years. I took it out on it's madien voyage, it went pretty well other than the transmission whining really loud. It's very notciable, more noticable when the vehicle is compression braking.

Could this be anything other than low fluid? Is there a trick to filling the reservoir? How do I confirm fluid is actually cycling through the system?

Thanks

Jason
vdubber
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 7:29 am    Post subject: Noisy Autostick Reply with quote

It sounds like you haven't checked the gear oil in the transmission. You probably have filled the Dexron automatic trans fluid reservoir which is in the engine compartment but you need to get under the car with your 17 MM allen wrench and pull the plug on the drivers side of the trans and check the gear oil in the trans which uses regular 85 - 90W gear oil. It sounds like it might be low.

If you are not too familiar with Autostick a simple description is that it is really a 3-speed manual tranny that uses an automatic torque converter to transfer engine power to the trans, and a electronically controlled vacuum operated clutch to shift the trans gears.

If you do a search of the forum using keyword "autostick" on the Samba forum you will find a lot of useful info. Also go to the website http://www.volks.org/vwar/ which is dedicated to only Autostick and has a lot of good info.
vdubber
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 7:46 am    Post subject: One more thing...... Reply with quote