Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Replacing Injector Seals - How hard?
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
slowesty
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:15 pm    Post subject: Replacing Injector Seals - How hard? Reply with quote

I am going to Baja in November and have been slowly replacing parts here and there in anticipation of the trip (and because the wife is cool with me working on the van for the trip, so I have been going quite a bit overboard).

I bought the Volkscafe fuel line replacement kit and have replaced most of the fuel lines, but am hesitant to try and replace the injector seals. As an average mechanic I am worried I that I may open a can of worms 2 months before we leave (and lose all the goodwill I have built up with my wife!).

How tough of a job is this? Is it something I want to try or should I leave it to the pros?

Thanks.
tencentlife
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just the seals? Easy greasy. Just remove the single M6 (10mm hex) bolt that holds each injector pair retainer plate to the manifold end. Lift the injectors away, and the actual seals are just the little square-section rubber rings that go over the nozzle tips. They may stay behind in the manifold ends when you lift out te injector pair. The bigger rubber rings aren't seals, but they go around a groove on the injector body and act as retainers under the retainer plate. Replacing them is optional if your old ones aren't cracking; they just help hold the injectors in place.