Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

rim/tire dilema
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
[email protected]
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2002 2:38 pm    Post subject: rim/tire dilema Reply with quote

to start off i have a 72 with 5 lug wheels. i need to know what bolt pattern i have. i would like to upgrade to a 15" rim or maybe 16. what is a fairly wide tire that wont rub and what kinda offset should i get. i am very new to this so please excuse my ignorance. is there some kinda site with this info already on it? also do empi eight spokes come in 5 lug? thanks in advance josh
58Type2
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 1:42 am    Post subject: rim/tire dilema Reply with quote

8 spokes are only 4 lug, that I am aware of. Bolt pattern, if the lugs are close, like those on a porsche, 3, maybe 4 inch distance from extreme left to extreme right of lugs, you have close 5. if the lugs are near 8-10 inches, they are wide 5's. 4 lug is all the same that I know of. You most likely have close 5 for the age of your bus. You can basically go to whatever rim you want inch wise. My friend has 14s on his and I know a bug that has 17s and another even with 20s. Offset, I am not sure, I will check my sources as I can't remmy what I have on mine. For that 8 spoke question, they make an adapter so you can run those 4 lug rims on a 5 lug bus/bug.
Again, I will look into the offset, I can't recall at the moment.

Jax
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
[email protected]
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 3:03 am    Post subject: rim/tire dilema Reply with quote