Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Tap, Tap, Tapping at my engine door
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
[email protected]
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2002 9:22 am    Post subject: Tap, Tap, Tapping at my engine door Reply with quote

81 Westy, aircooled. Driving around town, no problem stopped at bank shut off engine, returned, started engine and now tap tap tap no apparent change in performance but drove straight home, parked and haven't started looking, suggestions, I'm new to aircooled VWs.
keifernet
Samba Search & Rescue

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2002 11:14 am    Post subject: Tap, Tap, Tapping at my engine door Reply with quote

could be a sticking or collapsed hydrolic lifter(s)
When was the last time the oil/filter was changed? Do you know the history of the engine?
Or since we are doing this over the net and people hear noises differently it could also be exhaust leak related.....
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Gallery Classifieds Feedback
[email protected]
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2002 4:17 pm    Post subject: Tap, Tap, Tapping at my engine door Reply with quote

I have records indicating oil was changed 1200 miles ago, engine was rebuilt last year by a SoCA shop of reputation. Will take in for diagnosis.
keifernet
Samba Search & Rescue

PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2002 8:17 pm    Post subject: Tap, Tap, Tapping at my engine door Reply with quote

Yeah do it, as I said your ear is not entirely in tune with all the noises a VW engine can make... you could have a failing lifter or something in the exhaust could be making a similar noise. good luck and post back what they/you find please....
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Gallery Classifieds Feedback
breadloafdeluxe