Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

stock FI questions
Forum Index -> Type 3 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
grimace007
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 6:48 pm    Post subject: stock FI questions Reply with quote

so i just picked up a late square... floors are totaled... but it have some usable parts for my fasty, like the front clip is in good shape, the fenders are great etc...

also it has all the factory FI on it,
also it appears to have stock AC.

i dont know crap about type 3s really im just learning, but i want to put the stock FI back into my fastback.
i know carbs pretty good, but im a dummy when it comes to FI.

the motor was "supposed to run" when it was parked a few years ago.
i could care less about that i just want the FI crap from it.. since i dont have a bently yet, i have a few questions..

where is the FI controller located, and what parts should i try to salvage fron that systems fi setup and what should i just replace with new?

edit: i just noticed TRAMS sticky, i guess ill start reading that and see if i find anything useful in it.

Dallas Air Coolers
perrib wrote:
Hey It is The Samba where well thought out rational answers can take a while and getting side tracked is normal. I was just lucky this time. Smile

cr@M wrote:

No one has any personal responsibility these days. This country is sue happy. Intelligence is no longer a requirement, just an accessory.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Gallery Classifieds Feedback
blankmange
Type 3 Darksider

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 6:52 pm    Post subject: Re: stock FI questions Reply with quote

grimace007 wrote:

where is the FI controller located

the FI ECU is in the side panel on the driver's side, above the engine bay...

Certified DHS Technician