Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Can anyone give me advice on my 1.6 diesel...
Forum Index -> Water-cooled VW Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
norcalvwcaddy
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 12:31 pm    Post subject: Can anyone give me advice on my 1.6 diesel... Reply with quote

...and I'm thinking of converting it to a 1.9.
I'm sure this will mean that I'll get better acceleration, but what else?
Is it a hard to do the conversion?
Is it worth the extra money??
Total noob here, trying to learn.
Thanks for any help, my caddy thanks you!
Very Happy
oasis
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was perfectly happy with the 1.6 in my Caddy. Then again, I made sure I was never in a hurry.

By conversion, I suppose you mean doing an engine swap. Make sure you get the wiring harness and all of the electricals. It is not a straight-forward swap but is quite doable. (At such a point, why not go the extra several hundred bucks and get a used TDI?)
raru
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think he is talking about this kit...

http://www.zs-imports.com/

know nothing about it though.
95 Jetta
98 323is
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Gallery Classifieds Feedback
shegel
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote