Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Official Swivel Seat Bus Thread
Page: 1, 2, 3 ... 24, 25, 26  Next
Jump to:
Forum Index -> Split Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Aaron
Samba Luddite

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 11:10 pm    Post subject: Official Swivel Seat Bus Thread Reply with quote

I hope people will contribute and compile a comprehensive registry of the known Swivel Seat buses and the various details associated the model.
I am by no means an expert on this model bus. Some basics information I have gathered is listed below (please correct me if any of the following is incorrect).

M-code 199
Years of production 1959-1962

-The Bulkhead: Small "Ears" rather then the seat width walk-thru bulkhead or the non existing flip-seat bulkhead. Interesting side note. There are two different Swivel Seat bulkhead profiles. One is wider at the top and the tube meet the B-pillar at close to 90'. The other has a narrower profile at the top and the tube meets the B-pillar without running parallel to the floor.
-Asymmetrical Bulkhead Swivel Seat: Swivel bulkhead on drivers side, walkthru bulkhead on passenger side. My understanding is that there is one period photo and one bus known to exist.

-Double Swivel Seats: Seems like the verdict is still out on this one.

-Factory Passenger Seats in a Swivel Seat Bus: Seems most did not have a passenger seat. My Highroof does have a factory passenger seat belt and the remains of some type of mount. I'd like to see more detailed pictures of passenger side pedestals.

I hope Swivel Seat owner will contribute images and production information about there buses. Thank you.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Aaron
Samba Luddite