Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Towing with a Bus?
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
bamaflyfisher
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 8:23 pm    Post subject: Towing with a Bus? Reply with quote

I am brand new to the Bus world and I am currently looking at a couple.

My question is:

Can I pull:

1. A lightweight fishing boat (talking 60's model alumicraft)

2. Lightweight Scamp or Casita camper or even a popup camper?

Thanks,

Bama
Westy Steve
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 8:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Towing with a Bus? Reply with quote

bamaflyfisher wrote:
I am brand new to the Bus world and I am currently looking at a couple.

My question is:

Can I pull:

1. A lightweight fishing boat (talking 60's model alumicraft)

2. Lightweight Scamp or Casita camper or even a popup camper?

Thanks,

Bama

The Scamp or Casita might be too heavy. A small popup is do-able. Also, there are some hardshell campers lighter than Scamps and Casitas. Google "Puck travel trailer". You can probably pull a very lightweight fishing boat.

Here's a suggestion for you. Around 1972 (not sure of exact date, but someone will chime in) they started putting in Type IV engines in buses, which were alot beefier than their forerunners. They put out 66 or more horsepower compared to about 50 or less for the earlier engines.