Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Propex alternatives?
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Westynewbie1
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:22 am    Post subject: Propex alternatives? Reply with quote

Is there another heater on the market like the Propex?

I'm looking to buy a heater like it and just want to do some research.

The propex looks real nice, but I don't see any stats on consumtion of propane or any other specs on the actual units abilities.

Thanks.
maocg
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been running a propex for several years now. I have never really tracked my consumption. Of course there are many variables that go into how much propane is used but it seams like I can get about 8-10 nights plus or minus. The problem I ran into was the one auxiliary battery could not power everything. The battery under the seat has been pulled and replaced by 2 deep cycle batteries, one under the sink and one in the small hatch to the left of the fridge space. Problem solved with 148 amp hours.
sc-surfer
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Love my Propex. Seem to use very little fuel. I've never run out on anything shorter than a week long trip. (using 'fridge and stove too) There are some really cool diesel heaters out there if you have a diesel rig, but I've never found a propane heater anywhere near the compact size of the Propex.
* * * Coming Soon: Washable seat covers for westy bench seat...keep the pets off the upholstery! * * *
westyventures
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 10:31 am    Post subject: Re: Propex alternatives? Reply with quote

Westynewbie1 wrote: