Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Sandy the Squareback: A Student Budget Resto
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Type 3 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
85fastlane
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 4:03 pm    Post subject: Sandy the Squareback: A Student Budget Resto Reply with quote

I'm starting this thread to be an ongoing tour through the process of working on my car. I've posted a bit, but haven't shown my Square yet. I'm a full-time student at UFV in BC, Canada, so the budget is tight. I bought the car as a birthday present to myself in May of 2008 with hopes of making it daily-able in time for school in the fall, didn't quite happen.

I found the car on the Samba, I've been trolling for a long time. I bought it off a Samba member in Seattle and brought it up over the border for super cheap. Importing is easier than I thought. She's a '69 Square. Joel, the PO, threw in tons of extras for me: some Empi 8 spoke replicas, spare good windshield, spare beefed up rear crossmember, and a bunch of other little stuff. She was missing lots of pieces in the engine compartment. He'd taken out the FI system to find a bug in the system and sold it off, so no fuel delivery of any kind. The seats had no covers and were just wrapped in garbage bags, and the dash was cracked and split (oh, also threw in new dash pad). The good (great Very Happy) parts were that the body has some gorgeous patina, the brakes are new, the carpet is good, there is minimal rust, floorboards are super solid, even battery tray, early low back seats, early "claw" front seat belts, and it had those cool rear seat hinges that let you fold the seat out flat (as shown in pics).