Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Bus 2.0 Liter rebuild and Conversion to Beetle
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
DogN8tor
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 9:28 pm    Post subject: Bus 2.0 Liter rebuild and Conversion to Beetle Reply with quote

Ok -

I'm a total noob when it comes to VW engine building for power. Read about Type 4 2.0 Liter engines being converted for upright cooling and used in a Bug (mine's a '71 daily driver). Was thinking of getting a new "rebuilt" 1776 longblock with a mild cam and dual carbs until I looked at the costs to get there.

I like what I'm seeing about stock air-cooled BUS/VANAGON 2.0L Type 4 motors - good design features; full oil filtering, deep sump, twin carbs, having close to 100 bhp etc. Would like to have a reliable ride that will do 75-80 mph on the freeway (not a drag car).

Other than rebuilding a bone stock 2.0 Bus/Vanagon engine for longevity what's involved in the cooling and operating switch-over?

What stock parts are needed to convert?

What's the best exhaust that will work in the Bug chassis using Type 4 heads? Can the Type 4 spin-on oil filter stay put?

Any complications to the Type 1 transmission and clutch parts? Do these components have to be changed to keep up with the Type 4's power?
Does the Bug's trans mount have to be reinforced?

Dollar for dollar which engine build / selection route provides the most reliable bang (horse-pressure) for the buck? Seems like 1776cc Type 1 engines tune out at approx. 75 h.p. while Type Four 2.0L Bus engines are getting real close to 90-100 h.p. in stock tune with new components.

thanks for responding, RJ
SGKent Premium Member
Samba Member