Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts  See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com
 
SIEMENS/VDO fuel gauge sender output resistance
Forum Index -> Split Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Print View
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
don.ville
Samba YardMan


Joined: February 07, 2008
Posts: 2595
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
don.ville is offline 

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:45 pm    Post subject: SIEMENS/VDO fuel gauge sender output resistance Reply with quote

Last year I bought a brand new Brazilian gas gauge sender. On the end of the box the sticker has written "224005008R KOMBI (67...81)". A sticker over that has the part number "271 919 051 B"

The other day I got a new to me gauge of the bus. My tank was empty and when I connected the gauge it showed less that 1/4 tank,so I was happy, then I filled up and it still read the same.

I checked the sender to ground when it was almost empty and it was 60ohms
With the full tank it reads 500 ohms.

This seems opposite of what the gauge expects ( grounded or 0 Ohms when full and high impedance when empty)

Can anyone shed some light on this?
_________________
67 Standard 11 window How I Keep My Bus Alive
04 Jetta TDI Page
01 Mexican Beetle Hello Kitty Rescue (SOLD)
29 Ford Model A Rat Rod
06 Audi A8L Quattro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Facebook Twitter Gallery Classifieds Feedback
mintonman
Samba Member


Joined: October 20, 2003
Posts: 4201
Location: between Trenton NJ. & Philly Pa.
mintonman is offline 

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is the guage a stock guage or an aftermarket VDO
_________________
Hoockd on fonicks werkt for mee?
under the influance "DUH"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
don.ville
Samba YardMan


Joined: February 07, 2008
Posts: 2595
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
don.ville is offline 

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stock gauge I got from the classifieds
_________________
67 Standard 11 window How I Keep My Bus Alive
04 Jetta TDI Page
01 Mexican Beetle Hello Kitty Rescue (SOLD)
29 Ford Model A Rat Rod
06 Audi A8L Quattro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Facebook Twitter Gallery Classifieds Feedback
mintonman
Samba Member


Joined: October 20, 2003
Posts: 4201
Location: between Trenton NJ. & Philly Pa.
mintonman is offline 

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I asked because an aftermarket guage will not work with a stock sender and vice versa, so if it's a origanal/stock guage and an original/stock sender they SHOULD work together, but them brizilians did some crazy shit over there, so you may need an aftermaket guage Rolling Eyes I think I still have my chart from VDO as to what ohms are needed for the aftermaket guage, if I do I'll let you know.
_________________
Hoockd on fonicks werkt for mee?
under the influance "DUH"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Culito
11010101


Joined: December 07, 2006
Posts: 5713
Location: Columbia Missourah
Culito is offline 

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to make sure, you have your sender grounded, right?
Remember that the gauge gets 12v in, then out through the sender to ground.
_________________
Copyright CJ Industries, Inc.
'64 standard
'62 bug
johnnypan wrote:
...dont pay no attention to Culito,he's a cornhole..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Facebook Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Spanish Flea
Samba Member


Joined: November 20, 2006
Posts: 1244
Location: So. Flo.
Spanish Flea is offline 

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don, we can expect the new sender to be good, it's new.

To test the gauge, hook twelve volts to it. Does the needle go to full?
If not the gauge is bad.


I have a variable power supply you can use, it's a good way to test the full range of the gauge.

I can bring it on the camping gtg. Just let me know.

Spanish Flea
_________________
Miami Vdubs
Alte Schule
Rare Vintage Air
"Mr. Ford, i don't think what we are being offered here is worth a damn!" - Ernest Breech (On buying VW, March 1948)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
don.ville
Samba YardMan


Joined: February 07, 2008
Posts: 2595
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
don.ville is offline 

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The gauge is working as expected: high impedance to ground =tank empty ; low impedance or direct ground on "G" terminal shows full tank.

It is the sender that is acting off normal from what I expected.

It show low impedance when empty and higher when I fill the tank.

I got it brand new locally, but am curious about the application, maybe newer gauges work differently (or Brazillian ones)?

I thought I was not going to have to take the fuel tank out again, but sadly this may not be so.
_________________
67 Standard 11 window How I Keep My Bus Alive
04 Jetta TDI Page
01 Mexican Beetle Hello Kitty Rescue (SOLD)
29 Ford Model A Rat Rod
06 Audi A8L Quattro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Facebook Twitter Gallery Classifieds Feedback
dstefun
Samba Member


Joined: February 20, 2002
Posts: 3338
Location: Sacratomato
dstefun is offline 

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 11:21 am    Post subject: Re: SIEMENS/VDO fuel gauge sender output resistance Reply with quote

don.ville wrote:
A sticker over that has the part number "271 919 051 B"


That's the right part number for a split bus sender but something funky is going on. It does need to be zero ohms or close to it when full. Wrong sender in the box?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
don.ville
Samba YardMan


Joined: February 07, 2008
Posts: 2595
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
don.ville is offline 

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
"224005008R KOMBI (67...81)".


this could be 224 005 008 R ?
What about the original part number on the box? Do these senders really work from 67 to 81?
_________________
67 Standard 11 window How I Keep My Bus Alive
04 Jetta TDI Page
01 Mexican Beetle Hello Kitty Rescue (SOLD)
29 Ford Model A Rat Rod
06 Audi A8L Quattro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Facebook Twitter Gallery Classifieds Feedback
SCZ9-1-1
Samba Member


Joined: May 20, 2003
Posts: 711
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
SCZ9-1-1 is offline 

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you take the float retaining pin out of the sending unit before you installed it? It is a small pin that's taped over that holds the float from bouncing around while shipping.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Gallery Classifieds Feedback
dstefun
Samba Member


Joined: February 20, 2002
Posts: 3338
Location: Sacratomato
dstefun is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

don.ville wrote:
Do these senders really work from 67 to 81?


No, later busses use different senders. The cutoffs are 68-Jan 73, Jan-73 thru 79 and 80-87.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
don.ville
Samba YardMan


Joined: February 07, 2008
Posts: 2595
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
don.ville is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, the pin is out. The impedance changed when I filled the tank, just the wrong way.
Those cutoff dates certainly don't match what the sticker says!

don.ville is not a happy camper!
_________________
67 Standard 11 window How I Keep My Bus Alive
04 Jetta TDI Page
01 Mexican Beetle Hello Kitty Rescue (SOLD)
29 Ford Model A Rat Rod
06 Audi A8L Quattro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Facebook Twitter Gallery Classifieds Feedback
don.ville
Samba YardMan


Joined: February 07, 2008
Posts: 2595
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
don.ville is offline 

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sender has stopped working now.
Reads open circuit.
After several years of my gas gauge needle flicking back and forth and reading pretty much whatever it wanted, the sender finally took a dump.

I remember when I was troubleshooting it back then, the impedance would change (jump around) with the engine RPM changing.
_________________
67 Standard 11 window How I Keep My Bus Alive
04 Jetta TDI Page
01 Mexican Beetle Hello Kitty Rescue (SOLD)
29 Ford Model A Rat Rod
06 Audi A8L Quattro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Facebook Twitter Gallery Classifieds Feedback
dstefun
Samba Member


Joined: February 20, 2002
Posts: 3338
Location: Sacratomato
dstefun is offline 

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

New VDO Brazilian senders are still available but stay away from the cheaper unmarked Euromax ones. CIP1 has the lowest price for the VDO @ $50 - WW and BugHaus want $65 and WW doesn't say whether theirs is VDO or not.

http://www2.cip1.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=VWC-211-919-051


The bouncing around problem sounds like a poor ground from the gauge to the dash. Your best bet there is to run a separate ground wire directly to the stud on the back of the gauge. But it could also be a funky gauge or poor ground at the sender end too.

The ground terminal in the lower center is marked with a ground icon on my '62 gauge - the stud is short but there is room for a ring terminal and nut. Just run a wire from there to a good body ground.
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.
[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
don.ville
Samba YardMan


Joined: February 07, 2008
Posts: 2595
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
don.ville is offline 

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My choices are:

$45.50 Brazilian/VDO/Siemens, probably same as what I had before
https://www.westcoastmetric.com/product/271-919-05...fuel_gauge

$48 reproduction that is guaranteed for life!
http://www.airheadparts.com/vintage-vw-parts/fuel-...71919051-b
(Made by these guys...http://www.venturawarehousegroup.com/ads.html)

$69 OEM (probably same as Siemens/VDO that I had before)
http://www.airheadparts.com/vintage-vw-parts/fuel-...19051-b-oe

I am thinking of going with the reproduction with the lifetime warranty...
_________________
67 Standard 11 window How I Keep My Bus Alive
04 Jetta TDI Page
01 Mexican Beetle Hello Kitty Rescue (SOLD)
29 Ford Model A Rat Rod
06 Audi A8L Quattro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Facebook Twitter Gallery Classifieds Feedback
don.ville
Samba YardMan


Joined: February 07, 2008
Posts: 2595
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
don.ville is offline 

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dstefun wrote:

The bouncing around problem sounds like a poor ground from the gauge to the dash. Your best bet there is to run a separate ground wire directly to the stud on the back of the gauge. But it could also be a funky gauge or poor ground at the sender end too.


Thanks. I ran a separate ground to the gauge.
During troubleshooting in 2009, I used my thick home extension cord. I ran current from the tank sender (with a clean scraped ground) through the extension cord outside the bus, to the gauge (while out of the dash) with a nice new ground wire, and it was still acting erratic.
_________________
67 Standard 11 window How I Keep My Bus Alive
04 Jetta TDI Page
01 Mexican Beetle Hello Kitty Rescue (SOLD)
29 Ford Model A Rat Rod
06 Audi A8L Quattro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Facebook Twitter Gallery Classifieds Feedback
dstefun
Samba Member


Joined: February 20, 2002
Posts: 3338
Location: Sacratomato
dstefun is offline 

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then it's probably a funky gauge. Sad Easy enough to change but 12V gauges aren't too easy to find these days. You can use a 6V gauge if you add a resister or other type of voltage drop inline to the power lead. Otherwise the 6V gauge will eventually cook itself to death on 12V and even 6V gauges are getting rare to find in decent shape, as is noted by the prices in the ads.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Forum Index -> Split Bus All times are Mountain Standard Time/Pacific Daylight Savings Time
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

About | Help! | Advertise | Donate | Premium Membership | Privacy/Terms of Use | Contact Us | Site Map
Copyright © 1996-2020, Everett Barnes. All Rights Reserved.
Not affiliated with or sponsored by Volkswagen of America | Forum powered by phpBB