Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Wife's First VW: Early 1964 N Notchback
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Forum Index -> Type 3 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
NorCalWeekender
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 8:28 am    Post subject: Wife's First VW: Early 1964 N Notchback Reply with quote

Last night we bought my wife a 1963 Notch that was found here on the Samba. It's her first old VW (and I've been driving them for over 20 years but never had a T3).

So we're completely new to Type 3s and I'm hoping (and expecting) to learn quite a bit in the coming weeks and months.

Let's start with the fun stuff:
VIN: 0266806 (Samba VIN section suggests a Sept 63 build...so is it actually a 64 model?)

We have nearly 25 years worth of receipts and some old photographs which I'll scan later and add to the thread. The history of the car as we know it starts in '85 when it was stripped down and painted Corvette Yellow, Gray velour interior, disc brakes up front, four lug Riviera wheels all around. It might be lowered a notch, I can't be sure.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

The motor's a 1600DP with dual webers. Runs good, but the throttle cable sticks a little (blip it and it's good) and the front seat is not 100% in place as I kept getting thrown back when I'd take off from a light!

So we took a friend to go look at it last night and while the 1985 work is showing its age, it's a solid car that really just needs a bunch of small tinkering done to it. Took it for a spin, mulled it over, decided we wanted it.