Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

rusty bus
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Body/Paint Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
BusBerd
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 9:33 pm    Post subject: rusty bus Reply with quote

I have been trolling the Body/Paint forum of samba trying to educate myself a little on rust work.
I have a '77 VW Camper Bus that I have been restoring and working on since 2005. Because of financial difficulties I had to sell my daily driver car and use my bus as a daily driver through the past two winters. So now the rust issue with my bus has accelerated. I was holding off on getting to the body work on the bus because that is and area where i feel quite ignorant.
Here is what I think I want to do:
I would like to sand down the bus to the metal. I don't have a sandblaster or even a air compressor. I was thinking of doing this with my electric drill and some sanding accessories. bad idea? I started a bit on the bumper in the pics below.
I may not be able to get to painting the bus for a while, so I need to use a primer that will be appropriate to sit on the bus for a while.
I generally like stock for my bus, but I am not looking to have a show car. I still want to use the bus to take road trips and camp in, but I want to address the rust issue as thoroughly as I can afford right now before it starts eating through panels.
Once I win the lottery, I will give the bus an acid bath and work up from there, but until then i need to try to do what I can with the resources I have. But in reading through some of the posts here, I am a bit concerned that I do not do irreparable damage or just simply waste my time by not preping correctly.