Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts  See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Help With AZ Emissions?
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
learningbymistake
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 9:22 am    Post subject: Help With AZ Emissions? Reply with quote

I just moved to Peoria from Utah, and my '67 (body is a '72) Beetle is now going to have to pass emissions.

I'm pretty new to VW's, and don't know a whole lot. A buddy helped me get it running pretty well in Utah before I came down, but now that I'm here, it's failing emissions HORRIBLY.

Hydrocarbons are coming in at 1500 loaded and 1100 idle, and my CO readings passed at load, but failed at idle (it was higher at idle than at load).

I was assuming my mixture to my carb was too rich, so I tried to adjust it but can't tell much of a difference in the "smell" department of the exhaust. I have an extra carb, so I put that on, and it smells less rich, but I can't get it to idle when warmed up.

Anyone have any ideas, or willing to help me out this weekend? My temporary registration is up on the 18th, and need it to get to work so my wife doesn't have to get up at 4:00 am to take me.

Thanks guys.
lupin..the..3rd
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why would a 43 year old car have to pass emissions? Something doesn't sound right about that. Check your local laws again. There is no way a 43 year old car is going to meet the same emissions standard as a modern car.

Remember, your '67 beetle has NO emissions equipment, no catalytic converter, no EGR, nothing at all. How could it possibly pass a modern emissions test?