Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts  See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com
 
Place to refurbish stock VW Vanagon radio/cassette?
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Print View
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ourv12
Samba Member


Joined: November 30, 2006
Posts: 355
Location: Great SouthWest Michigan
ourv12 is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:04 am    Post subject: Place to refurbish stock VW Vanagon radio/cassette? Reply with quote

Anyone know someplace that can refurbish a original stock VW Vanagon stereo/cassette. I want to keep my 91 Syncro as stock/original as possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Classifieds Feedback
morymob
Samba Member


Joined: November 09, 2007
Posts: 4683
Location: east-tn
morymob is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:15 am    Post subject: Re: Place to refurbish stock VW Vanagon radio/cassette? Reply with quote

ourv12 wrote:
Anyone know someplace that can refurbish a original stock VW Vanagon stereo/cassette. I want to keep my 91 Syncro as stock/original as possible.
Good luck, maybe someone out there that can do it, does it work at all?? Not even the dealer cna get mine ('88 Westy ) out of locked mode so out it comes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Ahwahnee
Samba Member


Joined: June 05, 2010
Posts: 8331
Location: Mt Lemmon, AZ
Ahwahnee is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I chose function (CD/iPod) over originality (cassette player) but I can appreciate that there are those who want their vehicles purely original.

You might be better off $$$wise finding a servicable replacement -- likely many (like me) pulled out working radio/cassette units to go with something more modern.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
ourv12
Samba Member


Joined: November 30, 2006
Posts: 355
Location: Great SouthWest Michigan
ourv12 is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes it works but the left channel is starting to go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Classifieds Feedback
Destructo
Samba Member


Joined: July 31, 2006
Posts: 394
Location: Easthampton, MA
Destructo is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Put some rubbing alcohol on a q-tip and see if you can clean off the head inside. Might be tough. You could open it up and give it a good cleaning as well.
_________________
1985 Wolfsburg Edition Westfalia Camper Bostig conversion

Dude, where's your van?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
ourv12
Samba Member


Joined: November 30, 2006
Posts: 355
Location: Great SouthWest Michigan
ourv12 is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I mean the left channel when the radio is playing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Classifieds Feedback
danfromsyr
Samba Member


Joined: March 01, 2004
Posts: 12218
Location: Syracuse, NY
danfromsyr is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you ruled out it's not a speaker or wiring issue 1st?

there are likely a few of us with a stock van stereo on a shelf in the garage to spare though..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Wildthings
Samba Member


Joined: March 13, 2005
Posts: 40991

Wildthings is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 12:59 pm    Post subject: Re: Place to refurbish stock VW Vanagon radio/cassette? Reply with quote

morymob wrote:
ourv12 wrote:
Anyone know someplace that can refurbish a original stock VW Vanagon stereo/cassette. I want to keep my 91 Syncro as stock/original as possible.
Good luck, maybe someone out there that can do it, does it work at all?? Not even the dealer cna get mine ('88 Westy ) out of locked mode so out it comes.


Does your dealer know how the code is supposed to be disabled? Would sure like to disable mine and not have to worry each time I do something to the battery that I will never be able to reset the stereo again. It usually takes a dozen times or so entering the code for the system to accept it.

I tried several different disabling techniques I found on line, but none of them works. I sure wish I had never enabled the security code system when I first got my Multi. It has been nothing but a pain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
ourv12
Samba Member


Joined: November 30, 2006
Posts: 355
Location: Great SouthWest Michigan
ourv12 is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

danfromsyr wrote:
have you ruled out it's not a speaker or wiring issue 1st?

there are likely a few of us with a stock van stereo on a shelf in the garage to spare though..
I know its not the speaker because after the stereo warms up 15-20 min. I can hear sound through both speakers, its only when I first turn it on that only the right channel works. So I figure its starting to go bad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Classifieds Feedback
RCB
Samba Member


Joined: September 05, 2005
Posts: 4144
Location: San Francisco-Bay Area
RCB is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you contacted The Samba advertiser who goes by the name of Retro Sound. I see an advertisement that pops up on the upper right hand of the screen.

Might be worth sending an email to him...could turn out he does the work of knows someone who does.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Classifieds Feedback
Antron
Samba Member


Joined: July 13, 2004
Posts: 289
Location: Greenville Mi
Antron is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dont bother with the retro-sound stuff... I hate to speak ill of a samba advertiser. But that stuff is about as low quality as it comes..


Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
McVanagon
Samba Member


Joined: February 19, 2007
Posts: 1679
Location: Northern part of the Virginia
McVanagon is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wonder if anyone will be asking this question 25 years from now about the current radio/gps/climate control units?
_________________
'69 Mike
'85 GL
'87 Wolfsburg Hardtop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Twitter Instagram Gallery Classifieds Feedback
j8
Samba Member


Joined: August 13, 2003
Posts: 559
Location: Minneapolis, MN
j8 is offline 

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm with you. If I could keep the original radio and connect the mp3 player, well hello.

Anyway I ran a couple Google searches for car radio repair terms and found restoration / refurbish specialists. A couple of the sites document parts of the process but don't list prices. I figure if I have to ask... can't afford it. Also can't vouch for them, it is just the site info.

Would be interested if you find someone reliable. Success stories are welcome.
_________________
Julia
'89 2WD Westy (No end to names...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Facebook Twitter Gallery Classifieds Feedback
morymob
Samba Member


Joined: November 09, 2007
Posts: 4683
Location: east-tn
morymob is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:10 am    Post subject: Re: Place to refurbish stock VW Vanagon radio/cassette? Reply with quote

Wildthings wrote:
morymob wrote:
ourv12 wrote:
Anyone know someplace that can refurbish a original stock VW Vanagon stereo/cassette. I want to keep my 91 Syncro as stock/original as possible.
Good luck, maybe someone out there that can do it, does it work at all?? Not even the dealer cna get mine ('88 Westy ) out of locked mode so out it comes.


Does your dealer know how the code is supposed to be disabled? Would sure like to disable mine and not have to worry each time I do something to the battery that I will never be able to reset the stereo again. It usually takes a dozen times or so entering the code for the system to accept it.

I tried several different disabling techniques I found on line, but none of them works. I sure wish I had never enabled the security code system when I first got my Multi. It has been nothing but a pain.
They are aware of how to do, had all info,model,ser# another # stamped on side , VIN #, none would work with their instructions, also mine is one that takes a total of16 digits so u get 3 tries then it locks up. If u remove pwr and let it be for maybe a week then it resets and u start over. Dealer had no info as there being a factory 'secret' # that all would accept. Crappy way of using this style of radio,IMO.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Ahwahnee
Samba Member


Joined: June 05, 2010
Posts: 8331
Location: Mt Lemmon, AZ
Ahwahnee is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

j8 wrote:
I'm with you. If I could keep the original radio and connect the mp3 player, well hello...


http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-...3&y=22
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Corwyn Premium Member
Samba Member


Joined: December 29, 2009
Posts: 1511
Location: Olympia, Washington
Corwyn is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this guy:

http://www.radiomanrepair.com/
_________________
'90 White Westy ("Whirlpool")
VW AEG 2.0 by FAS
The Annual Baja Rally
https://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=604813&highlight=baja

"If anything's" gonna happen, it's gonna happen out there"
~ Captain Ron ~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
ithinkso
Samba Member


Joined: February 14, 2010
Posts: 185
Location: Las Vegas, NV
ithinkso is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

McVanagon wrote:
I wonder if anyone will be asking this question 25 years from now about the current radio/gps/climate control units?


Don't even need to wait 25 years. My $1000 (I didn't buy it) nav system option in my 07 civic is already broken Rolling Eyes
_________________
“May your trails be crooked, winding, lonesome, dangerous, leading to the most amazing view. May your mountains rise into and above the clouds.”
- Edward Abbey

1985 Westy, Zetec powered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
PDXWesty
Samba Member


Joined: April 11, 2006
Posts: 5718
Location: Portland OR
PDXWesty is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

An FM modulator/adaptor is a cleaner way to get an auxilliary input to a car stereo. It provides a better signal.

http://www.amazon.com/Scosche-Audio-FM-Modulator-U...amp;sr=1-6
_________________
89 Westy 2.1 Auto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Tom Powell
Samba Member


Joined: December 01, 2005
Posts: 4855
Location: Kaneohe
Tom Powell is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ourv12 wrote:
Yes it works but the left channel is starting to go.


Perhaps it is only the amplifier part of the deck that is going bad and you can add/wire in an external amp and keep the stock/OG appearance.

tp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
ourv12
Samba Member


Joined: November 30, 2006
Posts: 355
Location: Great SouthWest Michigan
ourv12 is offline 

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tom Powell wrote:
ourv12 wrote:
Yes it works but the left channel is starting to go.


Perhaps it is only the amplifier part of the deck that is going bad and you can add/wire in an external amp and keep the stock/OG appearance.

tp
Sounds logical, how do I do that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Classifieds Feedback
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Forum Index -> Vanagon All times are Mountain Standard Time/Pacific Daylight Savings Time
Page: 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

About | Help! | Advertise | Donate | Premium Membership | Privacy/Terms of Use | Contact Us | Site Map
Copyright © 1996-2018, Everett Barnes. All Rights Reserved.
Not affiliated with or sponsored by Volkswagen of America | Forum powered by phpBB