Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Deck Height, head CC, CR Dilema
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
temurphy3
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 6:22 pm    Post subject: Deck Height, head CC, CR Dilema Reply with quote

I'm a NooB, Embarassed and I'm trying to understand the CR, deck height and Head CC information. In the spring I am planning on building a street 2332 (84x94) with a forged counterweighted crank, 94's, FK-8, 44 IDF's, Steve Tims stage 2's @ 57cc's. Everything has already been chosen.

Now using the engine calulators it says I need a deck height of .103 to achieve 8.75 CR (FK-8 on pump gas). From what I've read the Only / Best deck height is .045-.060 (clearance for possible self destruction) and best quence? Detonation and pinging occurs after .060?? I dont get it!!

so My question is,
What is the difference if I (A) set my deck height to .045 like it should be then have the heads cc'd larger and dish the pistons to get 8.75 or (B) Set my deck height to .103 like the calculator says? It appears the cumbustion volume is the "Change" and what is needed for low CR 8.75 Right?? They both seem like its doing the same thing but one underneath the deck and the other above the deck. Is there anone that can please explain the difference and "whys" between these two different scenarios?
RockCrusher
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Dec 05, 2010 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your doing the math right so pat yourself on the back.

You are correct in all your assumption or conclusions. Why do you want 8.75? At .050 you'll get 9.85. The FK-8 can handle that.