Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Building a Stroker, what should I build?
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Ghia Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ghia72
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 7:42 pm    Post subject: Building a Stroker, what should I build? Reply with quote

So I'm new to building engines in general however I've enlisted my uncle who's built a few and been doing some research so I have some ideas.

First off:
My main concern is heat as this will be my daily driver of about 60 miles at least both ways (mostly freeway miles, I live in SoCal). I want this engine to last 100k+ and get decent gas mileage. I want more torque/hp then the 1600 dual ports provides but I don't need to leave tracks of fire behind me or anything.

I want to build a stroker, I know its more expensive then but it creates more power with less boring(so I've been told and read).

I'm thinking either stroking using the stock 85.5mm cylinders or 92mm thick walls as I read they are even thicker then the 85.5mm. maybe going with a 78mm crank 92mm thicks resulting in a 2074cc engine! I plan to throw on an additional oil cooling system to keep the heat down as well.

I know 2074 is a lot of CCs for a daily driver so if moving down to a 1745 or even a 1699 makes more sense then i'm down!

Feedback is appreciated!

THx!
anthracitedub
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I had the money, I would build an engine as square as possible using 85mm pistons and let it breath real good, also use all stock German sheet metal with the T-stat/flaps.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Ghia72
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you talking stalk?