Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

What Do YOU Look For When Buying A Bus? FAQ
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
jjrizzuto
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 6:38 am    Post subject: What Do YOU Look For When Buying A Bus? FAQ Reply with quote

Hello everyone, my name is Josh. I'm new to being a member of the Samba. I've read posts and went through forums on an almost daily basis for probably the last 6 months, but never actually joined as a member. I don't own a bus just yet, however I am looking for one. Before anyone says it, I already own a Bentley (yes, imagine that. I own a Bentley, but not a bus Rolling Eyes ). I plan on changing the fuel lines when I buy a bus. And yes, I'll have a fire extinguisher for it when I actually get a bus.

That being said, after roughly a half hour of searching, I haven't found any concrete answers to my question. So I figured this thread could be a useful one for future reference to anyone considering buying a bus. So, What is that YOU look for when buying a bus? Any specific things in relation to the mechanical/electrical/cosmetic/"patina"? Do you crawl under the bus looking at axles and such?

Any information would be much appreciated as I plan to take a look at a '79 Transporter tomorrow! Thanks again!
bsairhead
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Besides rust, not too much. You can rebuild the drive-train and the brakes cheaper than a body-man can weld and sand and prep and paint.
Tcash
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote