Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Head gaskets, tears and an open can of worms.
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jeff's Old Volks Home
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:52 am    Post subject: Head gaskets, tears and an open can of worms. Reply with quote

I've been a full time professional VW tech for almost 26years, 14 of which in my own shop. I've seen every combination of engine swap in Vanagons, including Subaru. I've got to say that I would NEVER repeat NEVER substitute a good working/ service-able or repairable 2.1 boxer engine for any Subaru engine. I've seen far more Subaru head gaskets turn a perfectly good Westfalia into an It'll-falia for sure, 2.1 heads leak, I agree but rarely do they catastrophically fail like the 2.5 Subaru. Another perfectly good Westy vacation ruined by a well meaning Subaru swap. Maybe it's it my Northern climate...Just my observations. Thanks for letting me rant.
Jeff
themervino
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not a professional mechanic but have been working on my van for 15 years. I have done a few Subaru swaps.
In your post you include all Subaru engines not just the ones that had obvious inferior head gasket problems. This is the part that I have to disagree with.