Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

How to replace air conditioning and make an upper cabinet?
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
maco70
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 5:44 pm    Post subject: How to replace air conditioning and make an upper cabinet? Reply with quote

Hi,

Is there somebody who already did the removal of the upper rear air conditionning stuff on an 1986 full camper and did a upper rear cabinet there, like it was stock until 1985 i think?

Is this easy?

I already have the upper rear cabinet door and hinges but i will have to remove all the air conditionning system and i'm not a mechanic so i don't know how easy or hard it is.

Thanks in advance for reply on this !

1986 Vanagon GL full camper westfalia
(brown/tan interior)
iceracer
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did this recently and it was fairly easy to remove. My AC system was empty so I didn't have to be careful. I reinstalled it and am sourcing larger speakers and going to make my own door/space for storage.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
zippyslug31
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd love to do this! I really miss that cabinet from my old '80 and my worthless AC unit in my '90 just adds weight.
'90 syncro westy 2.5L subi, triple knob, 16" wheels.
'84 sunroof van, 2.1L motor.
maco70
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks!

so, is the first step is to remove the upper panel on which is sitting the air conditionning?

1986 Vanagon GL full camper westfalia
(brown/tan interior)
Kejidog
Samba Member