Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Another no start/slow crank problem- Expert Help?
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
19VW
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:33 pm    Post subject: Another no start/slow crank problem- Expert Help? Reply with quote

I'm far from an expert on these cars- so any help would be greatly appreciated- I'm trying to take a trip this wknd...

85 1.9L
Here is where I am at:
Bought bus with blown heads
Had an extra set of heads pressure and vacuum tested by a machine shop came back okay
Installed tested heads, new head gasket and rings
I put everything back together and now it won't start.

Issues that I can see:
When I crank the engine it turns very slowly and seems to catch like something is getting hung up in the engine somewhere and won't let it turn- then it pushes past and turns for what sounds like 2 cycles and then catches again.

Issues I am considering:
-Timing is off- I had to remove the dist. but feel pretty confident I re-installed it at TDC
-Valves are not properly adjusted- again I paid pretty close attention to how to do it and feel pretty confident that I adjusted the valves and set them at 0 lashes (with the plan to re-adjust once the engine was running)
-Compression: going out to test this now

Here is what I have checked:
Spark at coil and plug-YES
Fuel Pump and injectors spraying- YES
Hall Sensor- working
Lifters-I pulled the valve covers off and can't push the rods in at all so I believe the lifters have pressurized
I spent a long time trying to get the rods to sit in the right spot and believe they are sitting where they should be-
Sensors- O2, Oil Temp and Coolant Level- all lights on the dash board come on- and stay on
Spark plugs wire to correct cylinder and firing order is correct