Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Another coolant horror story.....
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
ss1642
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 3:12 pm    Post subject: Another coolant horror story..... Reply with quote

Doing my annual west coast trip from San Diego up the coast, usually stop at Big Sur, this year the goal was Oregon and I convinced the wife to come along (uh oh).
Made it to Ventura, stopped for gas, 5 mins into pumping I hear a loud "Wooosh" and see coolant spreading across the concrete. Blown hose. I am not a mechanic and I dont carry extra hoses (should !?) (is duct tape an otion?) Took it to a non-VW place, after day one they replace the hose but cant get the fan to go on (it was working before), on day two they replace the reservoir sensor seal and the radiator fan switch. blinky light is flashing but they say it is not out of the ordinary.
On the road, made it to San Jose, blew another hose. Tow it to a VW guy in Watsonville, he says I need the bleeder junction, and he replaces the hose. He charges me 235 for fancy metal junction, I see van cafe has it for 175. My wife and I rent a car to Eugene.
On the way back, I pick up the van, it runs like a charm, no blinky light Smile Make it to Santa Barbara heading south and woooosh, blew hose #3.

Tow it to a Firestone, they replace hose, do a pressure check and it runs like a charm (no blinky light). They even run it for 30 in their garage and fan runs like a charm. 15 mins into the freeway run, blinky light comes on and I pull over and I realize fan is not coming on. The Firestone is closed, so returning is not an option. Freeway driving ok, but heats up during city driving. Limp back home.