Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

No power at master cylinder
Forum Index -> Split Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
will t
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:56 am    Post subject: No power at master cylinder Reply with quote

hi all, i have a recently acquired 1967 SO-42 poptop camper whose brakelights don't work, so after searching the split bus forum I started with checking for power at the master cylinder switch. with the pedal depressed there is no power at either terminal. I ordered a new switch and a new 9-pin from WW. Any thoughts? I am a rank amateur when it comes to wiring so your help and expertise would be greatly appreciated.

(btw, running lights, hazards, and signals work fine)

thanks,

will
BulliBill
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First off, congrats on the new Bus!

Do you have a single- or dual-circuit master cylinder. A little way into the '67 model year VW introduced the new dual-circuit system for the Transporter (it has two brake light switches instead of one).

I am no electrical wizard either, but I'm pretty sure that whichever system you have, you should have power on one of the wires heading to the master cylinder switches. When the switch(es) engage, they complete the circuit to the outgoing wire to light the brake lights. See if you have power in one of the lines. If so, then I guess your switch(es) are at fault. Other things to check are good grounding of the taillight bulb holders to the body (many of us add a ground wire to ensure that this happens).

Out of curiousity, If your hazard lights function fine, why did you order the 9-pin relay from WW?

Bill Bowman
Thornton VW - Stockton

Thanks for any help!