Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Quick welding question - replacing rear quarter panels
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Body/Paint Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
therealfrogman
Samba Guitar Hero

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 1:06 pm    Post subject: Quick welding question - replacing rear quarter panels Reply with quote

Just got my replacement rear quarters from WW (bumper bracket section) and would like to know if I can just do the cut precision straight and butt weld it without using the butt welding clamps?

I am pretty new at this and want to do it right. I understand spot welding an inch or so apart and going slow but I do not understand the need to use the clamps, seems like I would have more chance of burn throughs with my experience level.

Anyone with a quick response would be appreciated, ready to do this now.

I have a Hobart 140 handler 110 machine with C25

Thank you

Really appreciate what Everett has done here. Almost like he hand picked some of you. I am very thankful for all the help I get here.
far rider Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes you can butt weld without the clamps. Use a vise grip, c-clamp, magnet etc. to hold the metal in place. Tack and move your clamps. You might even use a hammer and dolly to adjust the metal as you go if needed. This is strictly self taught amateur advise. Good luck

Contentment; when what you have is what you want.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
therealfrogman
Samba Guitar Hero

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote