Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Mig Wire Quality
Forum Index -> Body/Paint Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bruce Amacker
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:43 am    Post subject: Mig Wire Quality Reply with quote

Can anyone tell the difference between Harbor Freight mig wire and quality brands? I can't tell, but I'm not experienced.

Thanks!
'66- http://www.leakoil.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=2888&sid=54d8dedfb3822f99c7f2ea430cb4e856
'65- http://leakoil.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=4263
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
CanadianBug
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've never noticed any difference in the welds per se, but I can tell you that every roll of cheap wire I've ever used tended to ball up inside the machine.
Correcting that two or five times a day gets old fast.
Cheap wire also sometimes doesn't come off the roll properly, like it's been wound wrong. Several times I've had to cut wire out of way, wasting a lot of it, in order to get it working right.
But in a pinch, what are you going to do? Smile

Mike

bodywork isn't a fucking race.
spectral
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nothing more frustrating than dealing with feed issues in the midst of welding.. for the extra $10 a spool go the good stuff Smile
Bruce Amacker
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CanadianBug wrote:
I've never noticed any difference in the welds per se, but I can tell you that every roll of cheap wire I've ever used tended to ball up inside the machine.

Mike