Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Just Bought a 1982 Air Cooled Westfalia
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
ColoradoWesty82
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 9:30 pm    Post subject: Just Bought a 1982 Air Cooled Westfalia Reply with quote

I just purchased my first ever Westfalia. Something I have been dreaming of for 20 years. It is a 1982 Air Cooled and I love her:) Myself, wife, and two kids went to pick her up today and she did awesome on the ride home. She was taken care of but is in need of a lot of love.

First thing I did when I got home was change the oil(I used synthetic) and oil filter. I also ordered a KN air filter that will arrive in two days. I have no idea how to use the refer, sink, or stove but am looking forward to exploring this site to figure it all out.

I plan to upgrade just about everything. Even thinking about putting in some hard wood floors:)

First real camping trip is going to happen in two days, but as I write this I am in the bus under my 5year old daughter who could not wait to sleep in the pop top! 14 month old didn't care as much:)

Looking forward to many adventures. Oh ya I found her here on THESAMBA! So Thank you!

I have about a million questions but I will go look around before I ask...
msinabottle
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 9:40 pm    Post subject: Welcome to the Funny Farm! Reply with quote

Congratulations! How happy and proud you must feel! The great adventure begins, I hope you never regret a moment of it.

It is customary at such times to say....

CHANGE YOUR FUEL LINES!

Having bought it, you don't want to mourn it. Scads of threads, and it's not that hard--but do use good stuff. My plan is to replace my Van, Winston's, with PolyArmor metal fuel lines.