Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

front torsion question
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
58Dub
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 6:32 pm    Post subject: front torsion question Reply with quote

since this is my first time with a ball joint beam apart...I have read a bunch and it seems like I have a mis-match of parts. From what I have read, there should be 4 full sized torsion leaves, and 6 skinny ones per tube??..is that correct. Here is a pic of what I have in the beam I pulled apart. There are 3 wide, one a bit skinnier and two thin per tube. They were very hard to get out, and now impossible to get back in.
I just wanted to confirm that these are an incorrect mix.
thanks
Matt

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Facebook Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Islandman
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe you do have the improper stack. I've torn down both types. Ball joint has the 6 small with the 4 wide (same size) like you said. A smaller number of leaves is sometimes used to compensate for a narrowed beam if that's the case. Best way to get them in is one at a time through the center holder for me.
58Dub
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any chance someone can give me the measurement on the proper sized large ones for a balljoint beam??
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Facebook Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Multi69s
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote