Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Advice to new owner
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
2dogs1van
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 4:10 pm    Post subject: Advice to new owner Reply with quote

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Hi all. I just retired after working the same job for 26 years and bought my dream car- an '84 Westfalia! I'm going to drive my two beloved mutts cross country in November, taking my time and camping along the way. The Vanagon has 180k miles, and supposedly has a rebuilt engine. I'm not a mechanic, so I'm having a local reputable shop here in Seattle inspect it throughly before departing on my trip. These are the things I will ask the shop to check:

replace all rubber fuel hoses and clamps
replace brake fluid and check brakes
inspect radiator, coolant lines. drain and replace coolant with phosphate and silica free coolant
grease CV joints
perform compression test and leak test
check transmission and clutch
replace oil and oil filter
check steering
check suspension

Any suggestions what else I should do to the Vanagon before leaving?

I will have my two elderly pooches with me so I want to avoid stranding them for a breakdown and prolonged repair.
Would I be smarter (but >$10k poorer) to swap out the engine for a Subaru?
Thanks to all in advance for the advice. And I'm a newbie to this site so I hope I'm following proper etiquette.

LOVE MY VANAGON!!!
randywebb
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you have a good list started and this should be a sticky

add:

1. replace all rubber brake hoses with new factory rubber