Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Having trouble getting it running
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
windfish
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 8:15 pm    Post subject: Having trouble getting it running Reply with quote

'70 Beetle, bit of a long-term project. Came without an engine so I found a '71 for it.
Been working on it as I'm able, I'm new to all of this so just been learning as I go (I do have the books).

Carb was a bit far gone (couple stripped out screws, adjustment screws did nada) so I got a rebuilt from Tim at volkzbitz.com.
I got it running good enough to take it up and down the driveway, but wasn't great. Did some googling and found that the mechanical-only distributor wasn't the best for use with my 34PICT-3, so I figured while I was adjusting things anyways I might as well get something better.

Bought a Pertronix D186504 and put it in, now I can't get it running.
Best I've done is gotten it to begrudgingly run for about a minute or so, throttle about halfway down but the engine idling-ish with some backfire and overall unhappy sounds.

I hooked up the new distributor as per instructions, black to neg on the coil red to 12v power. I set the static timing to the (single) notch on the front pulley (on this engine it appears to be 5 degrees to the left of tdc). Had the vacuum line hooked up, but took it off and plugged it to remove a variable.
Also reset the carb screws to four out for the volume control and 2.5 for the bypass.

That should be enough to get me started right?
Most of the adjustments and tuning steps seem to start with an already warm engine, especially timing with a light.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.