Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Subaru conversion on a squareback
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Type 3 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
JAR
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:05 am    Post subject: Subaru conversion on a squareback Reply with quote

Hi guys this is my first time in the forum, I have a 69 square back and I'm thinking of going with a Subaru eng convertion. A couple of reasons why 1 my friend will give me a complete running 96 legazy Subaru and 2nd I've always Ben curious about that conversion. I do have mechanical experience and have worked on other vws.if any one has done it or is in the middle of doing it please let me now the pros and cons of the conversion please.I would definitely be of great help. I'm in the Monterey area and I'm willing to drive to look ta a project for reference if that's possible.

Thanks in abvance.
Mike Fisher
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It will stick up into the passenger compartment and ruin the style/function of owning a station wagon. I'm carrying something back there every time I drive mine on my black rubber mat from ISP West.
two 57 oval ragtops sold
'68 Karmann Ghia sold

Society is like stew. If you don't keep it stirred up you end up with a lot of scum on the top! - Russ_Wolfe/Edward Abbey
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Facebook Gallery Classifieds Feedback
W1K1
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would like to see if anyone has done a nice Square T3 conversion how to. There are a few fasty and notch's out there, but they have a whole trunk to spread out in.

the height could be taken care of by raising the rear cargo/hatch area and keep it "looking" stock.

1973 super