Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Aftermarket A/C systems?
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
BusNut
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2003 1:42 pm    Post subject: Aftermarket A/C systems? Reply with quote

Hi everyone, I am new to the VW scene. I have owned my 69 bus now for about a month now( bought it at the Bug Jam in Florida). Yes I drove all the way from TN to FL with the intention to buy a bus and trailer it back home. I did and I LOVE it! Even more than my boats(didn't think that was possible!) I have tried looking on the net for info on a aftermarket AC system for my bus(I know, kinda strange talking about that in Dec. but just trying to plan ahead). I was wondering if any of you have seen such a kit for the VW bus. Would it be easier to buy another bus and try to swap the parts over? The only busses that I have seen w/ factory air have been the ones with the pancake engine. Would any of these parts be compatible( compressor, brackets, ect.) with the stand up engine? ANY info on this would be GREATLY appreciated! I have tried myself to find out some info on this with no luck. Figured it was time to ask the experts!!! THANKS - BRIAN
coad Premium Member
Samba Scapegoat

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2003 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ed Gilmore in Florida makes what I think is a very good kit.

http://www.gilmore-enterprises.com/

Lats time I talked to him he was not finished making the underdash unit for the bay buses. However, he can take an original under dash and make it work. He installs new fans and wiring. The kit is an easy DIY install.