Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Cylinders and boost
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
58Dub
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 5:20 am    Post subject: Cylinders and boost Reply with quote

Im looking for a little info from folks with experience.... With my current build, I am planning on using AA thickwall 92 cyls, run E85 FI and a turbo. This will be my first turbo... so Im no expert. I keep debating if I should stick with this plan or switch to 94mm cyls and the squishy pistons from Aircooled.net. I have read stories of people cracking cyls from boost,... but how much boost will a 94mm cyl take on a regular basis? This will be a street car and not just a limited use drag car.
Any feedback would be appreciated
Matt
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Facebook Gallery Classifieds Feedback
VWCOOL
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My engine builder Stan Pobjoy runs (I think) 20psi through his 1916 from an ex-Mustang Eaton blower. It's in an open wheeler and runs injected meth Smile
madmike
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 5:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Matt, I've runn 15-18lbs without issues Cool Cool
76 Drag/Street bug 2180cc 'Turbo' 11:85 @113 mph"If I go any faster I'll burn up the Hamster" ,gets 28 mpg. also 10/09/22 11.90 @115 mph
"If I'm ever on Life Support,UNPLUG Me, Then Plug me back In see if that Works"
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
mark tucker
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote