Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

eTDI swap in 2.5 months
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Surfcamper
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 7:58 pm    Post subject: eTDI swap in 2.5 months Reply with quote

Hello all. So my wife and I have a 9 week road trip planned starting Nov 22. I've become very tired of the 2.1 engine in our 87 2WD Westy, and thinking about pulling the trigger on doing a eTDI swap before our trip. I'd like to compile a list of most of the parts needed and start ordering.

I know the time frame is very short. A little background on me. I'm a professional mechanic with 10 years experience, 5 years in professional racing. I can fabricate, weld, wire, etc. However I don't pretend to know everything and I'm here looking for guidance. I've read a decent amount about the swaps, but there's always more to read.

I'd like to share my experiences in this tread as I try to tackle this project in my free time. I have a 03 Golf ALH TDI parts car I've been using to repair another Golf TDI. I have all the engine/wiring parts still at my disposal.

I'm planning on doing the swap at 50*. Is there a common consensus on which bell housing adapter is best? Or maybe I should ask which company has the fastest turn around time?

I've been thinking about having Fast Forward do the harness to save me time as I need to address some rust spots and reinstall the interior too before we leave on our trip.

Lastly...... (for now) I'm looking to replace the horrible looking wheels that came with the van when we purchased it. I'd like to drop the RPM's at highway speed with the TDI engine, what's your recommendations for a wheel/tire size?