Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts  See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com
 
Megasquirt ITB cold start options
Page: Previous  1, 2
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Print View
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
VWCOOL
Samba Member


Joined: June 02, 2006
Posts: 1821
Location: Down under
VWCOOL is offline 

PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2014 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know you have a present-tech EFI...

But.. how about an old-school cold start air bypass valve from a 1970s Bus/Bug?

All it needs is a 12V ignition and as it warms up over a few minutes, it shuts off the air bleed/feed...? You could make a small alloy 4>1 block to feed each runner...?

And yes, using MAP and idle air control on the one line can be a problem; you need a volume of air (ie the runners) to damp/average the MAP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
mcmscott
Samba Member


Joined: March 12, 2010
Posts: 4391
Location: sanger ca
mcmscott is offline 

PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2014 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apparently everyone here knows way more than I do. Because the engine in the pic has a -6 hose from each throttle body(CB throttle bodys that share a port between the two cyl each) that go directly to the iac. From the iac mount the 4mm hose goes directly to the map port on the ecu. Same way on my thing engine with a turbo and about 4 other customers cars. They all run perfect and have a perfect map signal.
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

But you guys are right, it wont work
_________________
There are no stupid questions, only stupid people,

68 Ghia
67 T-1
65 Notch
02 Mexican beetle
74 Thing
15 Long travel rail
07 Nomad
05 f-250
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
raul arrese
Samba Member


Joined: July 23, 2006
Posts: 1250
Location: miami florida
raul arrese is offline 

PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2014 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

modok wrote:
If you mean a plenum for the map sensor yes. All you need is to connect it with a hose.

There is some natural tendency for guys to imagine this is needed but..........it isn't. It could only make it run worse Shocked


It might be a good idea for the fast idle solenoid! But not for the map sensor

You might be right on some applications modok but I can speak for mine , I have tried all combinations and I run a small plenum now fed by all the ports and then I feed my map sensor from this with like a .040 jet inline , works better than it did without it . but maybe in another application it wouldn't , I don't know .
_________________
" Hot vw feature , may 2014 issue "
" 2013 Bug Jam class winner "
" Bug Jam best motor and best paint "
" 2013 Lakeland Classic Best of Show "
" 2014 Show and Shine , First in class "
"
Like my facebook https://www.facebook.com/pages/Raul-Arrese-custom-fabrication-and-performance/1832968110262608
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Facebook Gallery Classifieds Feedback
modok
Samba Member


Joined: October 30, 2009
Posts: 22161
Location: Colorado Springs
modok is offline 

PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2014 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, ok lets put it like this:
If you computer has the ability to read map at a particular crank angle then I think you should use this feature.

If not, then I guess you can't.

the megasquirt guys put the feature in there for the purpose of solving this problem, but you can always find your own solution too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
VWCOOL
Samba Member


Joined: June 02, 2006
Posts: 1821
Location: Down under
VWCOOL is offline 

PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2014 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

modok wrote:
Well, ok lets put it like this:
If you computer has the ability to read map at a particular crank angle then I think you should use this feature.

If not, then I guess you can't.

the megasquirt guys put the feature in there for the purpose of solving this problem, but you can always find your own solution too.


Fair enough.. and good info, thanks. My experience is with older, usually OE-based systems from GM and Ford and they can be sensitive to 'pulsing' and have no correction
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions All times are Mountain Standard Time/Pacific Daylight Savings Time
Page: Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

About | Help! | Advertise | Donate | Premium Membership | Privacy/Terms of Use | Contact Us | Site Map
Copyright © 1996-2020, Everett Barnes. All Rights Reserved.
Not affiliated with or sponsored by Volkswagen of America | Forum powered by phpBB