Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Lubrication - Experts Please Chime In
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Amskeptic
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 6:59 am    Post subject: Lubrication - Experts Please Chime In Reply with quote

I have a few Headflow Master engine customers recently having issues with their lubrication. Upon researching the Pressure Relief Ball Modification further, I have some questions about the claims of this modification.

Please read Lubrication Notes (link below) and note how VW utilizes "waste circulation" to pass more oil through the cooler than the engine actually uses. This is a factory blessed "leak" that occurs with grooved relief pistons in the closed position. The oil pump has known about this "leak" since the day it was designed and engineered.

For an engine without waste circulation, if the all the bearing surfaces heat up 4 gallons of oil each minute, the oil cooler only cools 4 gallons per minute.

With waste circulation, the bearings are still heating up 4 gallons per minute, but that relief piston groove has allowed the cooler to flow 5 gallons per minute, 4 to the bearings to get all hot, and one gallon dumped right back into the sump unused, cooled and ready to help drop oil temperatures.

http://www.itinerant-air-cooled.com/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=12422#p212557

The advertised "advantage" of the Adrian Ball Modification is that it improves oil pressure. Well, getting rid of the waste circulation indeed will increase oil pressure and defeat the purpose of the grooved relief piston.

Factory on Left * * * * * * * * * * Adrian Ball on Right.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.