Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Where can I buy a quality rebuilt 2.0L long block?
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
smitty1976bus
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 7:29 pm    Post subject: Where can I buy a quality rebuilt 2.0L long block? Reply with quote

Hi all,

I am out looking for a nice rebuilt 2000cc long block for my 1978 Westy. I'm new to the VW crowd, but learning quickly. The 2.0 that came with my bus is junk, the heads and gone and they cylinders cooling fins are snapped off in places. I feel it will be financially smart to just buy a rebuilt one.

I did some searching, in the forums, for a thread like this, but can't find any within the last 5 years, so i'm sure some things have changed.

I've found rebuilt engines from BusDepot and Mid America; does anyone know how reliable these companies are? Both are located on the West Coast, and I'm over near Boston, so there is a bit of a distance issue too. I've came across the name "Boston Bob" a few times, and was also wondering if anyone knows anything about him. Any information about any of this would be greatly appreciated.

-Sean
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
skills@eurocarsplus
Samba Peckerhead

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boston bob....him dead now. bus depot I think was using AVP rebuilt engines (junk, if in fact AVP) and I wouldn't buy an air freshener from mid America.

someone will chime in that is more in tune with the T4 stuff

my reason for switching to subaru is my german car was turning chinese so i said fuck it and went japanese.......
[email protected] wrote:
most VW enthusiasts are stuck in 80's price land.

Jake Raby wrote: