Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

To repair or not to repair. That is the question!
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
little_waters
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:30 am    Post subject: To repair or not to repair. That is the question! Reply with quote

I have an air cooled 81 vanagon camper. The body is in pretty mint condition. Literally no rust on it, new shocks, lots of work done to keep it looking nice, and generally well maintained. But the engine is tired and I just found out there's no compression in the #2 cylinder.

I have no experience with car repairs but I really really want to learn! Now my question is, do I fork over the cash for a mechanic to repair this or do I attempt to do this as a learning exercise and try to fix it myself? This might be more than I can chew but thought I'd ask for the advice of the more experienced owners on this thread. Would this be a good project for me to learn on?

Also, would it be worth me just fixing the one cylinder? The engine has over 300k on it. Should I consider a full rebuild? Or I've read of some ppl installing plumbing and adding a jetta or subaru engine. Is this even worth looking into?

I'm in Vancouver so I'd be taking the car to Adria Imports if I were to get it repaired. Tried the Bug Shop but they had a 3 week wait list to even look at the van. Anyone have any experience with either of them?

Thanks!
Jake de Villiers
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Bug Shop has a three week waiting list for a reason; they are the best in BC. Very Happy
http://sites.google.com/site/subyjake/mydixiedarlin%27
www.crescentbeachguitar.com
www.thebassspa.com