Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Sand rail rebuild
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> HBB Off-Road Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Doctordreeann
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 12:19 pm    Post subject: Sand rail rebuild Reply with quote

Hello samba! I'm new to the vw world so please bear with me. So I took this rail on a trade a while back, and don't really know what kind it is. Doesn't really matter because I'll be adding a lot to it as the story progresses. I do know it's a 1500 sp, early 70's irs transaxle, and all beetle suspension from the look of it. Feel free to comment, correct me, and throw pointers my way!

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Got it torn down and started fixing all the hacked up welds, cut off a bunch of old tubes, and got rid of the stupid cross thatched floor

Time to start fabbing some sickness!

Kudos if you can tell me where this cooler came from

Oil cooler mounts

Now creating this mad max/death race style pushbar! I'll keep you posted

Doctordreeann
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 6:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Sand rail rebuild Reply with quote

Finished welding on the topside of the push bar. Got some fenders on order, once they come in we'll finish it out and throw on the skid plate

Vanapplebomb
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:10 am    Post subject: Re: Sand rail rebuild Reply with quote