Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Turning our MV into a full camper
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Eurovan Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Needlenoddlenoo
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2016 7:48 pm    Post subject: Turning our MV into a full camper Reply with quote

I know I'm not the first to do this but I thought it would be fun to share , and if it looks like shit at the end y'all will know not to copy! so we have a 99 MV (The Tortuga) and we wanted a fridge so after lots of thought I installed a house battery ,bought a gowesty solar panel and an Engel fridge. I thought that would be it ,(how wrong could I be!), my wife has now decided she wants bamboo flooring and cabinets ( I'm a carpenter who just so happens to work in a cabinet shop), as our rig is not a daily driver it is easy for me to park it in the garage for a few weeks whilst I rip out the interior, I'm doing away with the metal frame and stock pad behind the seat and raising the platform up to the height of the seat when it is flat with draws underneath ,we lay a 3" memory foam pad down when we sleep so no need for the pad , then I'm planning on cabinets on both sides sitting on the platform going up to the ceiling, much like a westy but on both sides and connected at the top by a shelf / catch all. Anyway as I said I thought it would be fun to share and I'll post picks as I go
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

I started tearing up the carpet befor I removed the seats just to see how easy it would be , it wasn't! I'm gong to replace the ply that's under the carpet .

The Tortuga (99 Eurovan)
Elsie (87 vanagon ) sold
Luna -RIP.
Sunny the boxer
Leland,Sawyer,,Gallagher
Wife and I