Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Refurbishing my '77 Westy Campmobile
Page: 1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Jump to:
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Cap10323
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 12:12 am    Post subject: Refurbishing my '77 Westy Campmobile Reply with quote

Hello all, in this thread I will be cataloging through pictures and videos my project of bringing a 1977 Westfalia "Campmobile" back to prime condition.

I will preface everything by saying that I am an 18 year old shade tree small engine mechanic, I am not a professional, and I am not a rich man. But I am doing my best and learning as I go.

Where I live, in northern ohio, Aircooled VW's are somewhat of a rarity due to the harsh winters and absolute piles of salt on the roads. Up until I found this bus, I had never seen any sort of aircooled VW (running or otherwise) in my town. I assumed they were all long gone.

Fast forward to about 3 weeks ago, (where this story really begins) I was out for a walk and happened to glance up the driveway of an older, kind of overgrown house with a completely torn up driveway. To my amazement I saw an old, seemingly abandoned Bay window bus parked there. Dirty, half buried behind lumber scraps and wheelbarrows. But it existed.

I stopped back a day later and met with the owner who was out working on repairing his wrecked driveway, through talking with him I discovered he was the original owner and had taken very good care of the bus in it's lifetime, always having it undercoated, not driving it in the winter, regular maintenance etc. hence the almost unbelievable condition of the thing.