Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

When to sleeve lifter bores.
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
DeathBySnuSnu
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:12 pm    Post subject: When to sleeve lifter bores. Reply with quote

I have been running an eagle cam since 1981.
2110 (82 x 90.5) and 44's

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

The engine finally got tired and got a major rebuild.
Now a 2387 (86 x 94)
So it got a touch more cam.

Now here is the question.
It has run since the early 80,s with a 260 at .050 cam and no measurable lifter bore wear.
Does it need the be sleeved for the 270 at .050?

It is a cb magnesium super case from the same early 80's.
I am ready to go back together with it and before I close it up I want some opion about sleeve or not. No vw specific machine shop for many many miles. So it is ship it out or buy the tooling and do it myself. I was trying to avoid that and was one consideration for getting a cam that was advertised as 266 at .050. Cam came in bigger than expected.
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Gallery Classifieds Feedback
neil68
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:54 pm    Post subject: Re: When to sleeve lifter bores. Reply with quote

I've been running a magnesium case for over 10 years with several camshafts: Engle W-120 & FK8, Web 86C, 226 & 251 and now Raptor 6908. No issues with the lifter bores yet. IIRC, at some point the mag cases received thicker lifter bores...not sure which year that change was made. Do you have pictures?

Der Kleiner Rennwagens
68 Beetle 2332 cc, 204 WHP
12.5 seconds @ 107 mph
Dynojet Test: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M9B_H3eklAo
DeathBySnuSnu
Samba Member