Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Bigger or Better Brakes for '95 EVC
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Eurovan Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
This page may contain links to eBay where the site receives compensation.
jtchristopher
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 6:54 pm    Post subject: Bigger or Better Brakes for '95 EVC Reply with quote

Hi -

I'm new to the EuroVan Camper -- actually two weeks now -- and am slowly sorting out an example in phenomenal condition. I find the van stops a bit slower than I'd like and am curious of what the collective brain-trust recommends.

The '95 van is bone stock with 69K miles and I'm sure these are not the original brakes. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
CdnVWJunkie Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 2:36 am    Post subject: Re: Bigger or Better Brakes for '95 EVC Reply with quote

The EVCs are rather portly especially when considered against the rest of the T4 line up. That said I have driven several of the EVCs and one of them a '95 a few weeks ago. The brakes were in 90% condition front and back. I had just done a fresh bleed on them. When I road tested it, it stopped acceptably and with a similar "feel" as my '92 T4 DoKa (which would be quite a bit lighter).

I would first make sure your brakes are in top physical condition before moving on to upgrades. Have you inspected them?

Later T4s moved into disc brakes front and rear. In '01 with the intro of the 24V VR engine VW installed later front brakes. These can be added to a short nose T4. This upgrade will require 16" wheels.
jtchristopher
Samba Member