Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

ABA 2.0 Rebuild
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Water-cooled VW Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Vanagon Nut
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 11:48 am    Post subject: ABA 2.0 Rebuild Reply with quote

hi all.

I'm active on the Vanagon forum here and am currently doing
another ABA to Vanagon engine conversion.

The ABA engine was free. PO said it ran, didn't burn oil, but block
was quite oily and dirty. Originally I was only going to renew the gaskets,
belt etc. but chose to rebuild it. I have very little rebuild experience but am
gleaning a lot from various forums.

Link to some images of crank journals, piston wear, bearing shells etc

https://goo.gl/photos/8sgVXp8JzKk3dVRg6

I'll measure the parts as per Bentley manual, but input on condition of these parts is most welcome.

So far, it seems the crank may not need machining, the bores only need honing.
I'll get the block deck checked for any warpage then go from there.

Neil.

1988 West DIY 50º ABA

VE7TBN
Vanagon Nut
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 12:23 pm    Post subject: Re: ABA 2.0 Rebuild Reply with quote

ok. I think I found a work around to google photo not allow image embedding.

rod bearing cap shells

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

examples of crank journal wear

example of piston scuff (wear)

main bearing cap shell wear

1988 West DIY 50º ABA

VE7TBN
ps2375
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 10:57 pm    Post subject: Re: ABA 2.0 Rebuild Reply with quote